Posted on

Reckless Records 5/01/20 New Releases

Reckless Records 5/1/20 New Releases

CAR SEAT HEADREST – Making a Door Less Open LP (Matador) limited color or black 
Will Toledo returns with a new CAR SEAT HEADREST record for 2020. Using a different approach this time around by focusing on individual songs instead of an album as a concept, this one is percussion heavy with some interesting production techniques. CSH fans will obviously dig as well as PAVEMENT/Malkmus, STROKES fans. 

CHICANO BATMAN – Invisible People (ATO)
The Los Angeles based alt-funk band CHICANO BATMAN return with “Invisible People.” This is a great sounding record with hints of Sly Stone, RED HOT CHILI PEPPERS, PARLIAMENT & even some similar production to DAFT PUNK. 

JOHN CARROLL KIRBY – My Garden LP (Stones Throw)
Having worked with FRANK OCEAN, SOLANGE, HARRY STYLES and KALI UCHIS, LA-based JOHN CARROLL KIRBY has built up quite an impressive resume of collaboration. Now,
he gives us music in his own voice, a sensuous mix of electro-pop, lite soul and future funk. RECOMMENDED!

MAKO SICA/ HAMID DRAKE – Balancing Tear LP (Feeding Tube)
The collaboration between Chicago jazz legend Hamid Drake & psych rockers MAKO SICA continues on “Balancing Tear.” Long-form jams with smokey, desert vibes, some Lynchian atmosphere, Morricone, Miles & TALK TALK. Incredible stuff!

RAZEN – Robot Brujo LP (Hands in the Dark)
Haunting double LP by this Belgian group. This has that “soundtrack to a horror film that 
doesn’t but should exist” vibe to it with creepy reed instruments close-mic’d so you can hear the
breaths & keys being depressed, mellotron & more. The intimate nature of the recordings makes it all the more unsettling. RECOMMENDED.

LORENZO SENNI – Scacco Matto LP (Warp) 
Constructed in a “pointillistic” style using sharp, gated sounds to create a sense of rhythm and percussion without drums or drum machines, LORENZO SENNI’s 2020 record is a novel take on rave music, in the spirit of the forward-thinking IDM artists also found on Warp.

KANYE WEST – Jesus is King LP (Def Jam) blue vinyl in PVC sleeve
Finally a legit version of Kanye’s late 2019 album “Jesus is King” is available on vinyl. 
At this point, his time in the political spotlight & the gospel inspired Sunday Services are old news but an official vinyl version of a Kanye album is still something to get excited 

Other important new releases
NIALL HORAN – Heartbreak Weather LP (Capitol)
KNXWLEDGE – 1988 LP (Stones Throw) LP back in stock on purple vinyl
DUA LIPA – Future Nostalgia LP (Warner) back in stock
ONENESS OF JUJU – Space Jungle LP (Now Again)
WILLIAM PARKER – The Inside Songs of Curtis Mayfield LP (Aum Fidelity)
ARTHUR RUSSELL – Iowa Dream LP (Audika) back in stock
SHABAZZ PALACES – Don of Diamond Dreams LP (Sub Pop) back in stock
SPARTA – Trust the River LP (Dine Alone)
THE STROKES – The New Abnormal LP (RCA) back in stock
VADER – Solitude in Madness LP (Nuclear Blast)
WHITE HEAVEN – Out LP (Black Editions) back in stock