Posted on

Reckless Records 8/28/20 New Releases



“ON&ON” is the excellent record by the former YUCK front man Daniel Blumberg. These stark songs backed by violin, double bass & drums by Jim White of DIRTY THREE have an honesty & effortlessness to them that is difficult to achieve in our opinion. This makes us think of Jason Molina, Jeff Buckley & David Berman who was a mentor to Blumberg while making the record. RECOMMENDED.

JOHN CARPENTER – Skeleton 12” (Sacred Bones)

The horror master John Carpenter returns with his first new, non-soundtrack music since 2016. “Skeleton” is an updated track in the style that you love with a slight techno vibe & some gritty guitar from Daniel Davies. EXCELLENT STUFF OF COURSE.

JESSY LANZA – All The Time LP/CD (Hyperdub) limited pink vinyl

Following up 2016’s “Oh No”, Canadian singer/producer JESSY LANZA further dives into playful, house-inspired pop. There’s a tension between the bright bounce of this music and the bracing anger of a dissolving future brought on by the 2020 pandemic, and this can at times sound like CARIBOU or MORGAN GEIST, with whom she’s worked with in the past. “All The Time” is a step into more pure pop, but the acid R&B is still very present.


If you’ve been following Phil Elverum’s life over the past few years then you know he’s been through a lot. But now deep in 2020, we’ve ALL been through a lot & this record might help some of us deal with that. Elverum has re-started his adored MICROPHONES project with a 45 minute song. It starts with an acoustic riff that repeats for almost 8 minutes before he gets to singing. The song is like a short story about his life as a musician or a lengthy journal entry. Drums, distorted bass & guitar, piano, drones & various other instruments come in & out but mostly the song is based around the same acoustic riff. Lengthy conceptual songs like this can go very wrong but this definitely works. RECOMMENDED.

BRETT NAUCKE – EMS Hallucinations LP (American Dreams)

The always reliable Chicago based experimental musician Brett Naucke recorded these pieces at his residency at the famed Stockholm Elektromusikstudion in 2019. Recorded on the legendary Buchla 200 series Analog synthesizer, Naucke has done a fantastic job of creating a heavy, electronic space for us to lose ourselves in during pandemic times.

ANGEL OLSEN – Whole New Mess LP/CD/TAPE limited “clear smoke” with free 7” while supplies last or black vinyl 

Though this might seem like a pandemic record, This record of stripped down versions of the “All Mirrors” songs was originally recorded at Phil Everum’s (MICROPHONES/MT. EERIE) Unknown studio in Washington back in 2018. These versions were originally intended to be released side by side with “All Mirrors” but it sort of makes sense now that she decided to hold them back. Recently the Chicago ex-pat has discussed in interviews that she’s backing away from some of the more visible aspects of being a “rock star” so a return to her more minimal songwriting style makes sense. We’re just happy that she decided to release these amazing versions. RECOMMENDED OF COURSE!

.KELLY LEE OWENS – Inner Song LP/CD limited white or black vinyl“Inner Song” is the 2nd album from the London based musician Kelly Lee Owens. This is a nice blend of the techno production she’s become known for & some R&B tinged electronic pop mixed in.

POLE – 1 LP (Mute)

POLE – 2 LP (Mute)

POLE – 3 LP (Mute)

The now legendary first three albums by POLE are available once again!!!! These are the first vinyl reissues in almost 20 years& it’s welcome because the originals are difficult to find. These albums caused quite a stir back then with their stark, monochromatic artwork that perfectly complemented the glitchy, minimalist, dub influenced electronic music. RECOMMENDED.


THE AWAKENING – Hear, Sense, Feel LP (Real Gone) clear vinyl

BOB MOSES – Desire 12” (Domino)

MAC DEMARCO – Here Comes the Cowboy LP (Mac’s Record Label)

EVICSHEN – Hair Birth LP (American Dreams)

STAN GETZ & JOAO GILBERTO – Getz/Gilberto LP (Verve) audiophile remaster

DISCLOSURE – Energy LP/CD (Capitol)

BOBBY HUTCHERSON – The Kicker LP (Blue note) remaster, Blue Note Tone Poet series

RUSTON KELLY – Shape & Destroy LP (Rounder) limited LP w/ photo or regular

KENNELMUS – Folkstone Prism LP (Modern Harmonic) reissue

BETTYE LAVETTE – Blackbirds LP (Verve)

JACKIE MCLEAN – It’s Time LP (Blue note) remaster, Blue Note Tone Poet series

METALLICA – S&M2 4LP,2CD, 2CD/BLU-RAY, 2CD/DVD, Blackened)

MINOR THREAT – First Two 7”s (Dischord) blue vinyl pressing w/ blue cover!

MOON DUO – Escape: Expanded Edition LP (Sacred Bones) limited color or black vinyl


NARROW HEAD – 12th House Rock LP (Run For Cover)

PRIVATE WORLD – Aleph LP (Dais) limited purple vinyl

PVRIS – Use Me LP (Warner)

ELLIOTT SMITH – Elliott Smith: 25th Anniversary Edition 2LP/2CD (Kill Rock Stars)

SOUL SIDE – The Ship 7” (Dischord) they’re back!

NORMA TANEGA – Walkin’ My Cat Named Dog LP (Real Gone) limited sky blue vinyl

T. REX – Electric Warrior 2LP (Mobile Fidelity) 45RPM Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab

VARIOUS ARTISTS – Angelheaded HIpster: Songs of Marc Bolan & T.Rex 2LP (BMG)

VENOM – Sons of Satan: Rare & Unreleased 2LP (BMG) splatter vinyl

COLTER WALL – Western Swing & Waltzes & Other Punchy Songs LP (La Honda) 

    Indie only “uncolored” vinyl

WIDOWSPEAK – Plum LP (Captured Tracks)

ELI WINTER – Unbecoming LP (American Dreams)