Posted on

Reckless Records 7/17/20 New Releases


BING & RUTH – Species LP/CD (4AD)

“Species” is the 2020 album from BING & RUTH. Trance inducing compact organ dirges with minimal clarinet & bass accompaniment. Masters like Terry Riley & Steve Reich are easy comparisons to make along with fellow compact organ devotees BITCHIN’ BAJAS. Recommended.

DEHD – Flower of Devotion LP/CD (Fire Talk) Chicago exclusive red & blue vinyl! comes with bonus 7”

Local legends DEHD follow up last year’s breakthrough LP “Water” with another collection of … shall we say elegantly trashy jangle-pop. “Flower of Devotion” has the band leaning into more detailed and syncopated rhythms that can at times remind us of the B-52’s. Other tracks seem to draw from the dusty Americana of early ANGEL OLSEN records. Whichever way you want to slice it, DEHD has taken a step forward in both their writing and production, making this the best release of their young career.

BOB DYLAN – Rough & Rowdy Ways 2LP (Columbia) now on indie only gold or black  vinyl!

 Who would have thought that a 16+ minute Bob Dylan song about the Kennedy assassination would be one of our favorite quarantine songs? Well here we are folks. Bob seems to have found the next level & this 2020 record has some truly inspired moments from the living legend. A great record that will certainly appear on many 2020 year end lists if we make it that far. RECOMMENDED.

JARV IS – Beyond the Pale LP/CD (Rough Trade) LP/CD limite color of black vinyl

“Beyond the Pale” is the first new material by the former PULP frontman in over a decade. Jarvis always makes things seem larger than life & this is a big sounding record. Tons of catchy songs that vary between Leonard Cohen crooners, serious Bowie esque vibes & like always dripping with glam. Great stuff.

POLE – 123 (7LP box set) Mute

The now legendary first three albums by POLE are available once again in this limited edition box set. These are the first vinyl reissues in almost 20 years & it’s welcome because the originals are difficult to find. These albums caused quite a stir back then with their stark, monochromatic artwork that perfectly complemented the glitchy, minimalist, dub influenced electronic music. This box set also includes the “Raum” 12″ originally released in 1998. Don’t miss out on this one. RECOMMENDED.

THE SOFT PINK TRUTH – Shall We Go On Sinning So That Grace May Increase? LP/CD (Thrill Jockey)

MATMOS’ Drew Daniel has been releasing music solo as THE SOFT PINK TRUTH for nearly twenty years, and in 2020 has put out the most remarkable release of his career. “Shall We Go On Sinning …” draws from deep house, techno, classical minimalism and even shades of black metal to create a sonic kaleidoscope of ecstacy, anguish and renewal, not leaning too heavily into one category but instead making a liminal piece of home listening that is at once both extreme and accessible. Daniel enlisted the help of Angel Deerdorian (ex-DIRTY PROJECTORS), Andrew Bernstein (HORSE LORDS) and Colin Self – among others – to help contribute organic sound to balance with the more electronic elements, and so the project feels less like the work of one man than a massive collaboration. One of the most rewarding LPs of the year. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

YAEJI – What We Drew LP (XL)

“What We Drew” is the fantastic album from the Korean-American artist Kathy Lee aka YAEJI. Alternating back & forth between Korean & English lyrics, Lee often quietly sings over lush & mellow beats & playful electronic production. Some of this feels like nerdier Awkwafina or Billie Eilish if she got into house music. It’s all really fun, effortless & refreshing sounding.


ALLMAN BETTS BAND – Down to the River LP (BMG)

AMNESIA SCANNER – Tearless LP (color vinyl)

ANIMAL COLLECTIVE – Sung Tongs LP (My Animal Home) back in print!

FIONA APPLE – Fetch the Bolt Cutters 2LP/CD (Epic) indie only color or black vinyl

GENEVIEVE ARTADI – Dizzy Strange Summer LP (Brainfeeder)


FELT – FELT 3: Tribute to Rosie Perez: 10th Anniversary LP (Rhymesayers)

FU MANCHU – Fu30, Pt. 1 10” (At The Dojo) orange vinyl

MARVIN GAYE – His Classic Duets LP (Motown)

INEXORUM – Moonlit Navigation LP (Gilead)

JOY DIVISION – Atmosphere 12” (Factory) amazing sounding 45RPM 12” available 

JOY DIVISION – Love Will Tear Us Apart 12” (Factory) amazing sounding 45RPM 12” 

JOY DIVISION – Atmosphere 12” (Factory) amazing sounding 45RPM 12” 

JOY DIVISION – Closer LP (Factory) 40TH Anniversary edition on crystal clear vinyl

KLLO – Maybe We Could LP (Ghostly)

LIANNE LA HAVAS – Lianne La Havas LP (Warner)

LARAAJI – Sun Piano LP (All Saints)

LAWRENCE ARMS – Skeleton Coast LP/CD (Epitaph) these will be at Lakeview &  Wicker Park on Saturday

 JENS LEKMAN & ANNIKA NORLIN – Correspondence LP (Secretly Canadian)

GALCHER LUSTWERK – Proof 12” (Ghostly)

GIA MARGARET- Mia Gargaret LP (Orindal)

ENNIO MORRICONE – Themes: Psycho 2LP (Music on Vinyl) color vinyl, numbered

   limited edition

RIE MURAKAMI – Sahara LP (Ship to Shore) more Japanese City Pop!

TJO (TARA JANE O’NEILL) – Songs for Peacock LP (Orindal) color vinyl

PATRICIA – Maxyboy 2LP (Ghostly)

PRETENDERS – Hate for Sale LP/CD (BMG)

Hiroshi Sato – Supermarket LP (Ship to Shore) more Japanese City Pop!

THE SHAGGS – Shaggs’ Own Thing LP (Light in the Attic)

SVEN WUNDER – Eastern Flowers LP (Piano Piano)

SVEN WUNDER – Wabi Sabi LP (Piano Piano)

JIM WHITE & MARISA ANDERSON – The Quickening LP (Thrill Jockey) green vinyl

ZOMBI – 2020 CD (Relapse) vinyl should be here next week