Posted on

Reckless Records 5/15/20 New Releases


A few things, the Jamie XX 12” sold out almost immediately. We offered a pre-order for this and 90% of them sold that way. It was limited to 1000 copies and heavily allocated. We’re hoping for a repressThe PERFUME GENIUS & SLEAFORD MODS shipped late to us but we will have these on Saturday. Please feel free to call and place special orders or check in with us on Saturday for an update on their arrival

ADULT. – Perception /Is/ As/ of Deception LP (Dais) limited black & yellow galaxy viny

lReckless faves ADULT. return with a new one in our pandemic times. Supposedly the band painted their rehearsal space entirely black so deprive their senses while working. Now that’s a creative process we can get behind! As heavy as you hoped with nods at 80’s goth & early 90s industrial while leading the way of the current crop of post-industrial similar to Dais label mates HIDE from Chicago. RECOMMENDED.

FLOATING POINTS – Bias 12” (Ninja Tune)

The coda to FLOATING POINTS’ sensational “Crush” LP is this 12″ of the track “Bias”, perhaps the highlight of the album. Get it for the ten minute MAYFIELD DEPOT mix that really brings the blazing percussion to the front, making it even more dance floor ready. KILLER!

CLARICE JENSEN – Experience of Repetition As Death LP (130701)

We loved Clarice Jensen’s 2019 release “Drone Studies” & she picks up nicely where she left off. The NYC based cellist has performed with BJORK, STARS OF THE LID, Nick Cave, ARCADE FIRE & many more. Using loops & effects, Jensen creates modern classical drone music that can be beautiful & terrifying. RECOMMENDED.

RIDE – Clouds in the Mirror: This is Not a Safe Place Reimagined by Petr Aleksander LP     (Wichita)

RIDE’s excellent 2019 record “This Is Not a Safe Place” is reworked by modern classical duo PETR ALEKSANDER, stripping the record down to vocals and adding textured and dynamic arrangements. This is a cool take on the “remix” record with an almost entirely new record made from the original one. Fans of modern classical like Max Richter, Johann Johannsson, WINGED VICTORY FOR THE SULLEN & obviously RIDE will dig this. A novel take on the sound of a classic band!

MAMMAN SANI ABDOULAYE – Unreleased Tapes 1981- 1984 LP (Sahel Sounds)

Limited edition release of early, previously unreleased organ experiments from the Sahara by Mamman Sani Abdoulaye. Mysterious & distant sounding recordings with simple drum machine programming. We love the “La Musique Electronique du Niger” album so more of this is much appreciated. RECOMMENDED.

MOSES SUMNEY – Grae 2LP/CD (Jagjaguwar)

Despite the fact that most of us can’t congregate, the release of Moses Sumney’s second record feels like an event we can all participate in & celebrate. With a ridiculous guest list of contributors including ONEOHTRIX POINT NEVER aka Daniel Lopatin as the main producer, THUNDERCAT, writers Taiye Selasi &  Michael Chabon & more, Sumney has delivered a dense & heady collection of modern R&B, folk, jazz & rock tinged songs with a similar ambition to albums by Prince, D’Angelo, Bowie & Bjork. RECOMMENDED. 

Other important new releases

BETWEEN THE BURIED & ME – Between the Buried & Me LP (Craft)

BICEP – Atlas 12” (Ninja Tune)

DISSECTION – Somberlain 2LP special edition (Black Lodge) purple of black versions

EVERYTHING BUT THE GIRL – Temperamental 2LP (Everything But The Girl)

NICK HAKIM – Will This Make Me Good 2LP (ATO)

HANNI EL KHATIB – FLIGHT LP (Innovative Leisure)

HAMILTON LEITHAUSER – The Loves of Your Life LP (Glassnote)

MOBY – All Visible Objects 2LP (Mute)


PARADISE LOST – Obsidian LP (Nuclear Blast) indie only red/black vinyl

PERFUME GENIUS – Set My Heart on Fire Immediately LP/CD (Matador) Arriving on


LIDO PIMIENTA – Miss Columbia LP (Anti-)

SHABAZZ PALACES – The Don of Diamond Dreams LP (Sub Pop) loser edition color vinyl

   finally here!

SLEAFORD MODS – All That Glue LP (Rough Trade) Arriving on Saturday

THAO & THE GET DOWN STAY DOWN – Temple LP (Ribbon Music)

TIDIANE THIAM – Siftorde LP (Sahel Sounds)

TRACE MOUNTAINS – Lost in the Country LP (Lame-O)